Indian Independence Day – History, Facts & Date

Indian Independence Day: In India, Independence Day is celebrated on August 15 and is referred to as a national holiday. Independence Day signs the end of British rule in 1947 and the establishment of a free and independent Indian nation.

It also symbolizes the anniversary of the partition of the subcontinent into 2 countries, India and Pakistan, which occurred at midnight on August 14 and 15,1947. In Pakistan, Independence Day is celebrated on August 14.

British rule over India began in 1757 when, after the British victory at the battle of Plassey, the English East India Company began exercising control over the country.

The East India Company ruled India for over 100 years until it was replaced by direct British rule (referred to as British Raj) in the wake of the Indian Mutiny in 1857-58. During world war 1, the Indian Independence movement began and was led by Mohandas k. Gandhi, who recommended a peaceful and nonviolent end to British rule.

Independence Day is noticeable throughout India with flag-raising ceremonies, drills, and the singing of the Indian national anthem. Moreover, various cultural programs are made available in the state capitals.

A parade ensures with members of the armed forces and police after the Prime Minister participates in the flag-raising ceremony at the Red Fort in New Delhi.

The Prime Minister then delivers a telecast speech to the country recounting the major accomplishments of India during the previous year and outlining future challenges and goals.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.