Bharat Ratna - Bharat Ratna Award List (1954 to 2019)

Bharat Ratna facts, history and Bharat Ratna Awardees list PDF from 1995 to 2019, Bharat Ratna is the highest civilian award in India. Bharat Ratna
Bharat Ratna - Facts and Bharat Ratna Award List
Bharat Ratna - The highest civilian award in India

This article is about the highest civilian award in India (Bharat Ratna Award) - Bharat Ratna Is the highest civilian award in India and it's known as ‘Jewel of India’. The Bharat Ratna Awards were started on 02 January 1954 and it is awarded for exceptional service to the nation in recognition of various fields such as science, arts, literature, polity, sports, and social work of the highest order. So far it has been given to only 48 people (16 posthumously). It is always proposed by the Prime Minister of India and given by the President of India and It is provided to a maximum of 3 people per year.

Quick Facts of Bharat Ratna

Award NameBharat Ratna
Award TypeNational civilian
Presented byPresident of India
First awarded1954
Last awarded2019

The History of Bharat Ratna

  • The award was instituted on 2 January 1954 by the former President of India, Rajendra Prasad. When the Bharat Ratna Award was instituted, it was given to the nation for exceptional service in the fields of science, art, literature, politics, and social work of the highest order. Then from 2011 Bharat Ratna Award is given for exceptional service to the nation in any field. 
  • The provision for awarding posthumously in January 1955 was added to the statute of this prestigious award.
  • The first posthumously received the Bharat Ratna Award - Shanti Purush Lal Bahadur Shastri 
  • The first youngest and sportsman received the Bharat Ratna Award - Sachin Ramesh Tendulkar (at the age of 40) 
  • The first oldest person received the Bharat Ratna Award - Dhondo Keshav Karve (at the age of 100)
  • Nationalised Indian received the Bharat Ratna Award  - Mother Teresa
  • The first foreigner received the Bharat Ratna Award - Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan and Nelson Mandela (former prime minister of South Africa)

The Award (Bharat Ratna)

  • The medal is made like a peepal tree leaf with incense in the center and the Bharat Ratna is engraved below it.
  • The medal is made in bronze.
  • On the backside, the emblem of India is embossed and Satyameva Jayate is inscribed in the Devanagari script.
  • The award does not carry any monetary arrangements.
Sachin Tendulkar receiving Bharat Ratna
Sachin Tendulkar receiving Bharat Ratna (2014) Image credit:

Bharat Ratna Award (1995 to 2019)

Here is the complete list of Bharat Ratna Awardees from 1995 to 2019. You can download Bharat Ratna Award list PDF below.

Awardees Year About
C. Rajagopalachari1954 He was the last Governor-General of India and Indian politician, independence activist, lawyer, writer, historian, and statesman.
Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan 1954 First Vice President of India and Indian philosopher and statesman
C. V. Raman 1954 Indian physicist who carried out ground-breaking work in the field of light scattering
Bhagwan Das 1955 Indian Theosophist and a part of Central Legislative Assembly of British India
M. Visvesvaraya 1955 Civil Engineer and Statesman
Jawaharlal Nehru 1955 Indian independence activist, First Prime Minister of India
Govind Ballabh Pant 1957 Indian freedom fighter, One of the architects of modern India
Dhondo Keshav Karve 1958 A social reformer in India in the field of women’s welfare
Bidhan Chandra Roy 1961 An eminent Indian physician, educationist, philanthropist, freedom fighter and politician, He served as the Chief Minister of West Bengal from 1948
Purushottam Das Tandon 1961 A freedom fighter from Uttar Pradesh, India. He has put enormous efforts in achieving the Official Language of India status for Hindi.
Rajendra Prasad 1962 First President of India
Zakir Husain 1963 Third President of India
Pandurang Vaman Kane 1963 Indologist and Sanskrit scholar
Lal Bahadur Shastri 1966 Second President of India
Indira Gandhi 1971 The only female Prime Minister of India
V. V. Giri 1975 Fourth President of India
K. Kamaraj 1976 A leader of the Indian National Congress
Mother Teresa 1980 An Albanian-Indian Roman Catholic nun and missionary
Vinoba Bhave 1983 An Indian advocate of nonviolence and human rights
Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan 1987 A Pashtun independence activist
M. G. Ramachandran 1988 An Indian actor, filmmaker, and politician who served as the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu.
B. R. Ambedkar 1990 An Indian jurist, economist, politician and social reformer who was a part of the Dalit Buddhist movement
Nelson Mandela 1990 A South African revolutionary, political leader, and philanthropist who served as President of South Africa
Rajiv Gandhi 1991 An Indian politician who served as the 6th Prime Minister of India
Vallabhbhai Patel 1991 The First Deputy Prime Minister of India
Morarji Desai 1991 An Indian independence activist, 4th Prime Minister of India
Abul Kalam Azad 1992 An Indian scholar, independence activist, and a senior leader of the Indian National Congress
J. R. D. Tata 1992 Chairman of Tata Group
Satyajit Ray 1992 Indian filmmaker, screenwriter, music composer, graphic artist, lyricist and author
Aruna Asaf Ali 1997 An Indian independence activist and First Mayor of Delhi
Gulzarilal Nanda 1997 Indian politician and economist who specialized in labor issues
Dr. A.P.J Abdul Kalam 1997 Missile Man of India
M. S. Subbulakshmi 1998 Indian Carnatic singer from Madurai, Tamil Nadu
Chidambaram Subramaniam 1998 An Indian politician and Independence activist
Jayaprakash Narayan 1999 Indian independence activist, theorist, socialist and political leader
Amartya Sen 1999 Indian economist and philosopher
Gopinath Bordoloi 1999 First Chief Minister of Assam
Ravi Shankar 1999 An Indian musician and a composer of Hindustani classical music
Lata Mangeshkar 2001 Indian playback singer and music director
Bismillah Khan 2001 Indian musician credited with popularizing the shehnai
Bhimsen Joshi 2009 Indian vocalist from Karnataka
C. N. R. Rao 2014 Currently, the Head of the Scientific Advisory Council to the Prime Minister of India
Sachin Tendulkar 2014 Former captain of the Indian national team and one of the greatest batsmen in the history of Cricket.
Madan Mohan Malaviya 2015 An Indian educationist and politician
Atal Bihari Vajpayee 2015 Indian politician, statesman, and a poet.
He served three terms as the Prime Minister of India
Pranab Mukherjee 2019 13th President of India
Nanaji Deshmukh 2019 Social Activist
Bhupen Hazarika 2019 An Indian playback singer, lyricist, musician, singer, poet and film-maker from Assam
Bharat Ratna Award List PDF 0.99MB