Odisha - Facts, Map, Famous Places, Govt, History, Etc

Information about Odisha - Facts, Map, Famous Places, Govt, History of Odisha, Odisha is the state of India. It is the 9th largest state of India,
Odisha - Facts, Map, Famous Places, Govt, History, Etc

Odisha is the state of India. It is the 9th largest state of India, is known for its tribal cultures and its many ancient Hindu Temples. The state has an area of 155,707 km2, Odisha is located on the East coast of India, facing the Bay of Bengal. Long ago Odisha was a part of Bihar. It got recognition as a new state on 1 April 1936 During the British period. The foundation day of Odisha also known as “Utkal Divas”. It celebrated every year on the 1st day of April. The capital city, Bhubaneswar is the largest city of Odisha and Bhubaneswar was the 1st smart city of India. Odisha is surrounded by West Bengal, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, and Andhra Pradesh.

Government of Odisha

Body Government of Odisha
Chief Minister Naveen Patanik (BJD )
Governor Ganeshi Lal
Legislature Unicameral (147 seats)
Parliamentary constituency 21 Lok Sabha, 10 Rajya SabhaHigh
High Court Odisha High Court, Cuttack
Website www.odisha.gov.in

Symbols of Odisha

Emblem Konark Horse
Language Odia ( ଓଡ଼ିଆ )
Music Bande Utkala Janani
Dance Odissi
Tree Sacred fig
Animal Sambar
Bird Indian Roller
Flower Ashoka

Famous places in Odisha


Puri Famous place in Odisha

The Jagannath temple of puri is a popular Hindu temple of Lord Jagannath, a form of Lord Vishnu. The temple was built by the king Anatavarman chodaganga in the twelve century. The Puri temple is famous for its annual Ratha yatra. In this festival, three deities are placed on huge and elaborately decorated temple cars and pulled. Jagganath, Balabhadra, Subhadra are three deities worshipped at that temple including statues of Sudarshan Chakra, Madanmohan, etc. Inside the temples contains statues of these three gods carved from a sacred neem tree known as Daru sitting on a jeweled platform, Ratnabedi. The deities are adorned with different clothes in different seasons. The Nila Chakra is present on top sikhar of the Temple. The flag present on the Nila Chakra is distinct from Sudarshan Chakra which has been placed inside the temple. The Singhdwara or Lion gate is one of the four gates to the temple and forms the main entrance. The gate face east opening on the top of the Bada danda. The Baisi Pahacha or twenty-two steps leads to the temple complex. An idol of Jagannath known as Patitapavana is painted on the right side of the entrance. The statue of goddess Lakshmi is carved at the top of the door. A pillar known as Aruna Stambha stands in front of the gate. Many devotees from different countries come here to get the blessing of Lord Jagannath.


Konark Famous places in Odisha

Konark Sun temple is a thirteen century CE Sun Temple at Konark from puri. The temple was built by king Narasingha deva dedicated to the Hindu sun god Surya. This pilgrimage site for Hindus is located near Chandrabhaga. The name Konark derived from "kona" and "Arka". Kona means corner refers to the Southwest location of this temple and Arka refers to the Hindu god Surya. Sun temple at Konark is also known as Black Pagoda as the first ray of the sun entered the Garbhagriha. The Konark temple represents this iconography on a grand scale. It has 24 elaborately carved stone wheel which are nearly 12 feet in diameter and is pulled by a set of 7 horses. When viewed from land during sunrise and sunset the temple appears to emerge from the depth of the blue sea carrying the sun.


Bhubaneswar is the largest city and Famous places of Odisha

Bhubaneswar is an ancient city in India's eastern state of Odisha. The city historically was named Ekamra Khetra. Although the modern city of Bhubaneswar was established in 1948, the history of the present-day city can be traced to the third century BCE. It is a confluence of Hindu, Buddhist, Jain heritage. Bhubaneswar is often referred to as the temple city of India. The Kalinga architecture, with Puri and Konark, forms the "Swarna Tribhuja" or Golden triangle. It is one of the modern cities in India. Bhubaneswar and Cuttack are often called as twin cities of Odisha. Many temples built from sandstone are dotted around Bindu Sagar lake including the most famous Lingaraj Temple. Many sculptures, weaponry, remains of plants and animals and indigenous Patta Chitra paintings fill the Odisha State Museum. The city never forgets a second of time to attract people towards it.

Some Facts About Odissi

Some Facts About Odissi

The caves of Udayagiri- Khandagiri provide some of the earliest examples of Odissi dance. The dance form derives its name from the 'Odra nritya' mentioned in Natya Shastra. In the mid-twentieth century, Odissi gained international acclaim due to the efforts of Charles Fabri and Indrani Rehman. Some of the facts of Odissi are:

  1. It is similar to Bharatnatyam In the use of Mudras and postures to express emotions.
  2. The tribhanga posture, i.e. the three-bended form of the body is innate to Odissi dance. Also, the ‘Chowk’ posture with hands spread out depicts masculinity.
  3. During the dance, the lower body remains largely static and there is the movement of the torso. Hand gestures play an important role to convey expressions during the Nritya part.
  4. Odissi dance form is unique in its representation of gracefulness, sensuality, and nice beauty. The dancers create intricate geometrical shapes and patterns with her body. Hence, it is known as 'mobile sculpture'.

Famous Proponents: Guru Pankaj Charan Das, Guru Kelu Charana Mohapatra, Sonal Mansingh, Sharon Lowen ( USA), Myrla Bravie ( Argentina )

Wildlife Sanctuary In Odisha

  1. Baisipalli Wildlife Sanctuary
  2. Nandankanan Wildlife Sanctuary
  3. Satkosia Gorge Wildlife Sanctuary
  4. Simlipal Wildlife Sanctuary
  5. Sunabeda Wildlife Sanctuary
  6. Debrigarh Wildlife Sanctuary
  7. Gahirmatha (Marine) Wildlife Sanctuary
  8. Hadgarh Wildlife Sanctuary
  9. Balukhand Konark Wildlife Sanctuary
  10. Bhitarkanika Wildlife Sanctuary
  11. Chandaka Dampara Wildlife Sanctuary
  12. Chilika (Nalaban) Wildlife Sanctuary
  13. Lakhari Valley Wildlife Sanctuary
  14. Karlapat Wildlife Sanctuary
  15. Kotagarh Wildlife Sanctuary
  16. Khalasuni Wildlife Sanctuary
  17. Kuldiha Wildlife Sanctuary

Park In Odisha

  1. Bhitarkanika National Park
  2. Simlipal National Park

Major Attractions in Odisha

  1. Brahmapur
  2. Sambalpur
  3. Puri
  4. Balasore
  5. Bhadrak
  6. Baripada
  7. Balangir

Map of Odisha

Map of Odisha